Internship Finished: Leaving Irish Tatler

I’ve been off work now for about a week now and I’ve missed it so much; I can’t function day-to-day without thinking there’s press releases I have to go through or people to contact about hotel breaks or flicking through the many many books on my desk. I knew from the start that I’d only get 3 months out of the internship but I have to admit, I was quite teary eyed when I was leaving.

photo

Holly surprise-snapped me when I was on the phone during my last week!

It’s so rare when you get to meet such a great bunch of people who are so hard working and friendly, who make you feel so welcome into their space and who take time out of their busy days to explain things to you that you don’t get yet, and with such patience too. I really was so lucky to have had the opportunity to get my internship and I learnt so much from it.

The culture and events page that I wrote up every issue

The culture and events page that I wrote up every issue

The section for hotel and spa breaks

The section for hotel and spa breaks

I did work experience for a few papers in my town back in 2012; it made me realise how much I didn’t want to work at a newspaper, although the people were obliging and so helpful there as well. I’ve always liked to be creative and flexible in my writing and that just isn’t really possible if you’re writing for a newspaper, and rightly so, as facts should take priority over opinion.

A page for women in business

A page for women in business

This section was on recommended books

This section was on recommended books

However, I’ve realised in the past couple of months that magazines is where my passion truly lies. I’m so looking forward to moving to the UK and getting more work at a magazine over there too, and hopefully I’ll have the same wonderful experience I had here. I’m glad I didn’t waste my summer lying on my butt watching TV re-runs and making plans that would likely never come to fruition, I finally decided resolutely what I want to do with my life and that’s a big deal for me, as I’ve been so uncertain over the years, so now I have something to work towards to the best of my ability. Counting down the days to London!

 

Leave a Reply

